Money Problems Equates to Banana Pancakes

I must have miscalculated of how much money I needed. Perhaps, this could be because I have never lived on my own or knew all the big and the little costs that come with living in a new home. Over here, a deposit on a house usually requires three months of rent money as well as a 35% agent commission fee. Not to mention, paying for a year worth of WiFi and furnishing a new home. I was starting to worry about not making it till payday. It’s a scary thought being in a foreign country and all you have left in your bank account is 321 RMB. That’s basically less than 50 US dollars.

However, cooking in my own apartment as oppose to eating out at restaurants helped me save a few RMB’s here and there. During this money drought, I was checking my fridge for inspiration and was uninspired after I looked into the fridge. Inside, I had raisins, yogurt, eggs, mustard, a jar of jam, a jar of pesto, a cup of rice, fruit, and tons of water bottles. I was kind of hopeless at first, thinking to myself what in the world could I make. Needless to say I was not hopeless forever because I was just about to leave the apartment and grab some take-out to bring back home. I had a random epiphany as I was leaving my apartment. I was thinking of some simple recipes that I could share on my blog and the thought of making pancakes entered my mind. And then it hit me, I had bananas and I had eggs. Instead of grabbing for my shoes to head out, I grabbed my camera and started to prep for pancakes.

What I love about this recipe is that it is touches every frugal woman’s heart, it is easy to make (so simple!), it is low carb and it has real banana flavor. What’s not to love?  Anyways here are the ingredients…Are you ready for it?

1 large banana

1 egg

2 T of plain yogurt

Cooking spray

Your probably thinking, my recipe is cut off, and you might end up leaving me a comment asking me where the rest of the recipe is  but before you do, let me save you the trouble and say that this is actually it. In fact, you could take the yogurt out of the recipe, and you could still have some fluffy and yummy pancakes. I normally omit it, but I had some leftover yogurt from the Chicken Biryani, so I thought I would be resourceful and use it. Also, back at home in California, I like to normally add a pinch of cinnamon and a small teaspoon of vanilla extract, but since I was going the frugal and resourceful route, I just used these three ingredients.

DSC_0809
Mash the banana with a fork. I like my batter with bits of banana chunks in it.
DSC_0810
Add an egg, and 2T of yogurt into the banana mixture.
DSC_0811
Mix with a whisk.
DSC_0819
Heat your pan to medium setting. Spray your pan with a type of cooking spray. I only had olive oil so I used that. Spoon your batter using a ladle and pour the batter into the middle of the pan, making a circle shape when pouring. This recipe is hard to make perfect circles.
DSC_0817
Flip when the pancake facing the heat turns solid. Here is how the pancake should look like when flipped.
DSC_0822
Here is the finished product! Instead of using a syrup, I glopped a huge amount of yogurt on top and drizzled it with some Chinese honey I bought from a local market by my house. You can add any topping or just eat them just them fresh off the pan.

I am glad to say that I have made it till payday. I do not plan on doing this all the time, but if I have to do it all over again, I will probably be making some banana pancakes. When push comes to shove, know that there are always options. These options do not always have to burn a hole in everyone’s wallet, such as these banana pancakes.

This is also a great recipe if you have limited cooking utensils, or you have limited counter space. If you try this at home, leave me a comment, and tell me how your pancakes turned out! I’ll be posting more recipes in the future. Also, constructive feedback is greatly appreciated. I am still fairly new to the blogging community and would I love to hear how I can make this a better blog for others to read. Thank you for reading!

From my tiny purple kitchens to yours,

Sam

Leave a Reply

