Turkish Manti’s Made from Scratch

Today I conquered my fear- I made my own dough to make Turkish mantis. If there is one thing I’ve always strayed away from doing in the kitchen, it would be making doughs from scratch. I am terrified of making doughs – a fear that stems all the way back from my childhood. And I can admit I am a horrible baker cause I never follow any recipes to a tee. But thankfully, this dough used in the Turkish manti was fairly easy, even for a freestyler cook like me.

Btw, the manti is boiled meat dumplings topped with a yogurt and a tomato brown butter sauce. My only gripe with ordering this dish is that it’s always overpriced for something as simple as dough and meat. But after making it today, I can assure you all you are paying purely for the labor that goes into making these tiny pockets of love.

I can’t wait to show you all what I’ve been doing for the last few hours. So let’s let the photos speak for itself.

Step 1: Make dumpling dough

IMG_2582
The dough is fairly simple. A cup and 2 T of flour, one egg, and add water and oil as needed

IMG_2586

IMG_2589
Once all the ingredients are combined, you will need to knead for five minutes.
IMG_2592
The dough after five minutes, and let it rest for an hour.

Step 2: Make the Meat Filling 

IMG_2598
This mixture is  1/2 lb of ground beef and 1/3lb of ground lamb meat. Add a teaspoon of salt and black pepper, minced garlic and a random herb mix I found at the house.

Step 3: Make Yogurt Sauce

IMG_2601
The yogurt sauce ingredients include minced garlic, olive oil and a sprinkle of S&P.

 

IMG_2604
Mix & Viola!

 

Step 4: Make the Brown Butter Tomato Sauce

IMG_2606
Melt the butter until you smell a deeper smoky flavor devlop.
IMG_2608
Next add paprika and mix.
IMG_2610
Add the tomato paste and garlic. In my case, I used some of my sundried tomato pesto for a deeper and richer flavor. Read my last post for the sundried tomato pesto recipe 🙂
IMG_2612
The finished product, and set it aside.

Step 5: Make dumpling wrap 

IMG_2616
Roll out the dough into a thin sheet and cut them into squares.
IMG_2621
Distribute the meat onto each square wrapper
IMG_2625
Pinch both sides of the dumpling wrapper and it should look like this

Step 6: Boil the dumplings IMG_2635

Step 7: Plate & Eat 

IMG_2632
Spread over the brown butter tomato sauce and yogurt over the warm dumpling and it is ready to be devoured.

Thanks for reading today!

With love,

Sam

 

 

Leave a Reply

